September 2014

At the request of the EAC Secretary General, the Saana Institute has produced a briefing paper outlining progress on the Continental Free Trade Area. The establishment of the Continental Free Trade Area (CFTA) is a key building block in the process of regional integration and the formation of an African Economic Community. The CFTA is to be established by the indicative date of 2017 and will build on the current Tripartite FTA negotiations which would create a free trade area among 26 countries of the EAC, COMESA and SADC.

Saana Institute Briefing Paper 01